CPAP Rental
1 week trial. Try before you buy.
Home Sleep Study
Diagnose OSA. Fast and accurate.
Stop Snoring Clinic
Tried everything? We can help you.

The Snoring & Sleep Apnoea Forums

Hello! Newbie here

Talk about all aspects of sleep apnoea. Request help from others with the same problem, tell your story, exchange tips & techniques ..
Sarah
Sergeant Snorer

Hello! Newbie here

Post by Sarah » Thu Jan 11, 2018 5:59 pm

Hello! I've recently been told I have a 'likely' diagnosis of severe obstructive sleep apnoea.

I see the consultant next week but in the meantime I've had my driving licence revoked so I'm learning to organise life differently, giving up some commitments, applying for a bus pass, rediscovering the use of my legs and finding other ways of indulging my hobby of camping, using public transport instead of a car.

I'm looking forward to getting some relief from this permanent tiredness and tapping into all the information and advice on this forum. :-D

Nuneatonman37
Captain Snorer

Re: Hello! Newbie here

Post by Nuneatonman37 » Wed Jan 31, 2018 6:54 pm

Hello Sarah and Welcome ,

I was diagnosed in 2007 with severe osa 54ahi and I was 37years old at the time of diagnosis .
My wife was telling me for a good while that I stopped breathing in my sleep at night but I just laughed it off and didn't really think about it .
I got to a stage where daytime sleepiness ruled my life and often had to go home to nap if it was possible.
I visited my doctors one day and mentioned about sleep apnoea and was sent off for tests at Birmingham Heartlands hospital I was sent for full polysomnography over night study in the sleep clinic ward .I must say I had the worst nights sleep ever and I honestly thought it was a complete waste of time being there .