CPAP Rental
1 week trial. Try before you buy.
Home Sleep Study
Diagnose OSA. Fast and accurate.
Stop Snoring Clinic
Tried everything? We can help you.

The Snoring & Sleep Apnoea Forums

First week hell

Talk about all aspects of sleep apnoea. Request help from others with the same problem, tell your story, exchange tips & techniques ..
Private Snorer

First week hell

Post by JDRB » Sun Mar 04, 2018 10:18 pm

Hi all,

I was diagnosed with an overnight pulse oximetry as part of a workup for gastric bypass surgery (i'm BMI 50.6). I never considered I would have OSA, but it wasn't a surprise (and I'm a doctor). The technician told me that my average SaO2 was 83% during sleep, and that I had on average 75 'dips' lasting over 15 seconds per hour.

I had no problematic daytime sleepiness but do think I had fatigue, difficulty waking, poor concentration, irritability, lower mood, less motivation. 

Anyway, I was given a Philips Respironics DreamStation for a week set to AutoCPAP to check my necessary pressure. I was given a DreamWear mask. 

Well, the first week has been horrible. I have struggled with it, but the DreamMapper app says it's not going well. I think it majorly due to me being a mouth breather, and when trying to drift off and testing the nasal pillows, feeling really congested. I usually use a very strong antihistamine (fexofenadine 180mg) and Avamys steroid nasal spray all year round for allergies.