CPAP Rental
1 week trial. Try before you buy.
Home Sleep Study
Diagnose OSA. Fast and accurate.
Stop Snoring Clinic
Tried everything? We can help you.

The Snoring & Sleep Apnoea Forums

Why are CPAP machines so expensive?

Share your experiences with CPAP, request help, find out the latest developments ....
Xmarmite

Why are CPAP machines so expensive?

Post by Xmarmite » Thu Nov 16, 2006 2:40 am

I have been using a CPAP machine from the NHS for the past 4 years
I was after a second CPAP machine to make things easier as I travel and stay constantly between the South Coast and Scotland. What a surprise when I called Respironics in the UK! I was told that the package including the masks etc would be around £500.00 all in. Why do they charge so much for what is essentially a pump, some tubing and a gel mask? Anyone know where I can buy a CPAP machine at a "FAIR" price?

It is only when you begin to purchase medical equipment do you realise that the Health service in the UK is being bled to death by the cartel of Medical Supplies and Pharmaceutical companies.

Please do not tell me that the profits are needed for research and development. Just take a drive over the elevated section of the M4 in London and question for yourselves how much research goes on at the new sleek Smith Kline offices.

Also look at the balance sheets for Respironics!!! (http://library.corporate-ir.net/library ... 006_ar.pdf) in case anyone in interested in a company with a turnover of over 1 billion dollars! Most of it bled out of people that need medical equipment.

Apologies if I have offended anyone in this forum but I am VERY angry and feel that we are being exploited and not helped!

Bill Bolton

Re: Why are CPAP machines so expensive?

Post by Bill Bolton » Fri Nov 17, 2006 6:12 am

Why do they charge so much for what is essentially a pump, some tubing and a gel mask?