CPAP Rental
1 week trial. Try before you buy.
Home Sleep Study
Diagnose OSA. Fast and accurate.
Stop Snoring Clinic
Tried everything? We can help you.

The Snoring & Sleep Apnoea Forums

Just over a year in

If you have a story of success (or failure), then post it here for others to read.
ryprodigy

Just over a year in

Post by ryprodigy » Wed Apr 02, 2014 2:47 pm

I have been visiting this site since spring 2013 and have found it very helpful. So thanks all. So here’s my story this year so far.

I went to see a locum GP as my wife who is a nurse was concerned I had a sleeping condition, who then referred me to a consultant.

End of February 2013. I went to see my consultant and filled in a short questionnaire while in the waiting room (Epworth test). I discussed with him my wife’s concerns about me stopping breathing and snoring during the night, and over tiredness and falling asleep during the daytime. Also that I was waking up around 8-10 times a night and getting up to visit the toilet, and waking up gasping for air. He told me that he did not think I had sleep apnoea, as my scoring on the questionnaire was border line, 10. Saying that he thought it might be down to my physical work and stress of running my business. But still wanted to run a test. I collected the equipment off a nurse to monitor me for one night. I received the results off the nurse and was told that I was stopping breathing on average 91 times an hour, and was given a CPAP machine (ResMed S9, with humidifier with full face Quattro mask). I struggled using it for the first 5-6 weeks.

April/May time. I was due to go back and see my consultant, so was wired up again for one night to see if it had helped. Although not perfect I managed at one point that night to reduce the number of episodes to 30 an hour.