CPAP Rental
1 week trial. Try before you buy.
Home Sleep Study
Diagnose OSA. Fast and accurate.
Stop Snoring Clinic
Tried everything? We can help you.

The Snoring & Sleep Apnoea Forums

OSA the OSAS,The Hard facts

If you have a story of success (or failure), then post it here for others to read.
Dartagnan
Private Snorer

OSA the OSAS,The Hard facts

Post by Dartagnan » Sat Mar 26, 2016 4:52 pm

I'm a Bus Driver and will be having tests for Apnia soon. I think i may have mild Apnia and if so have to surrender my D2 license
Ive looked up the symptoms and treatments etc but cant find anything concrete about the License Issue.
Just so I'm ready and assuming I have Apmia or Syndrome.
At what point do I inform DVLA, Pre Diagnosis , Diagnosis, before treatment or after treatment.
Most Importantly, how long does diagnosis then treatment take and how long will I be without my D2 bus driver license for Apnia and syndrome

Sleep2Snore
General Snorer

Re: OSA the OSAS,The Hard facts

Post by Sleep2Snore » Tue Mar 29, 2016 12:12 pm

Dartagnan wrote:I'm a Bus Driver and will be having tests for Apnia soon. I think i may have mild Apnia and if so have to surrender my D2 license
Ive looked up the symptoms and treatments etc but cant find anything concrete about the License Issue.
Just so I'm ready and assuming I have Apmia or Syndrome.
At what point do I inform DVLA, Pre Diagnosis , Diagnosis, before treatment or after treatment.
Most Importantly, how long does diagnosis then treatment take and how long will I be without my D2 bus driver license for Apnia and syndrome
Well, you have to tell DVLA after you have been diagnosed, not before.
Having said that you are also duty bound to tell them if you are sleepy at the wheel and not safe when driving.
Being a bus driver it is even more important you do not put yourself on the wrong side of the law.