Find the type of snorer you are.
CPAP Rental
1 week trial. Try before you buy.
Home Sleep Study
Diagnose OSA. Fast and accurate.
Stop Snoring Clinic
Tried everything? We can help you.

The Snoring & Sleep Apnoea Forums

6 weeks in, my story so far. Some tips & hope!

If you have a story of success (or failure), then post it here for others to read.
NewDan
Private Snorer

6 weeks in, my story so far. Some tips & hope!

Post by NewDan » Wed Jul 27, 2016 10:06 pm

Dear all,

I had my 6 week checkup yesterday, and would like to share...

I work as a travelling sales rep staying in 3/4 different hotels a week, I drive a lot, was generally fatigued, & exhausted after a week's work, but wasn't suffered form drowsiness. I wasn't sleeping well, was waking up at the slightest noise & was frequently waking up very early. I'm quite sure I've suffered since my 20s if not earlier.

I was having 18 events per hours.

Starting CPAP I felt positive, I wanted to sleep & wanted to stop being tired, I wanted & needed it to work.

The first week with the mask was very hard, mask slipping, being woken by blasts of air, waking frequently & struggling to get back to sleep again with the mask on. Most nights I was managing 3 to 4 hours with mask then taking it off to get another few hours sleep. I did manage one really good night though and was hopeful.

At first week checkup the pressure was reduced to 8 (I think it was 20 before). Wow!

Weeks 2-5 after pressure reduced: generally really good, sleeping straight through most nights from 10-11 til 5-6, & feeling really good. I was having dreams again! I was having about one night a week when I'd wake in the morning without my mask on.

Week 6. Not a great week for mask use (this was a really hot week). Nearly every morning, after seemingly sleeping undisturbed, I was waking up without the mask on, one night the timer was just 29minutes! I was starting to feel tired & down again.

6 week check up: