CPAP Rental
1 week trial. Try before you buy.
Home Sleep Study
Diagnose OSA. Fast and accurate.
Stop Snoring Clinic
Tried everything? We can help you.

The Snoring & Sleep Apnoea Forums

A decade of exhaustion.

If you have a story of success (or failure), then post it here for others to read.
Mountain

A decade of exhaustion.

Post by Mountain » Sun Feb 26, 2012 10:07 pm

Hi, I'm new here. I thought I'd give a brief overview and introduce myself!

So, for the last 10-15 years or so I have been exhausted with no apparent reason. I wake up more tired than when I went to bed, often with a headache and rely on strong coffee to get me going. By mid afternoon I'm almost falling asleep. I often fall asleep for a while in the evenings.

I'm reasonably fit and active- I'm a martial artist.....but hardly have the energy these days. I'm a big guy and built like a proverbial brick outhouse. I have a 19inch neck. I have a terribly deviated septum too.

I have high blood pressure and I'm plagued with depression, often inexplicably. My doctors have always blamed my complaints of tiredness on my depression.

However, my wife recently noted that she though I stopped breathing in my sleep! Then she filmed me when I fallen asleep. I did indeed stop breathing several times followed by a gasp.

Then the penny dropped. I'd never linked all of the problems together before but it clicked. Sleep apnea- maybe?

My latest GP agrees and I'm waiting(up to 3 months) for a sleep clinic study.

So, I've stumbled across this site and it seems I'm not alone. I'm expecting CPAP will be the outcome but to be honest I'd do anything for a decent night's sleep. Although I expect it will be far from easy to begin with at least.

Thanks for 'listening'.

Mountain

Re: A decade of exhaustion.

Post by Mountain » Tue Feb 28, 2012 12:25 am

Hi,

Thanks for the welcome & kind words:)